Spring Broccoli Salad

DSC_0316Spring Broccoli Salad

Years ago I had this recipe for an Asian broccoli salad that was made with a spice packet from the Top Ramen package.  My husband calls Top Ramen, “Top Ramone”.  It’s pretty rare that we have Ramone, but I use the noodles for the Thai soup that is in this blog.  Anyway, I just loved that broccoli salad.  It was a go-to salad that showed up everywhere.  Usually when that happens you get tired of it and vow to never make it again.   As I was menu planning at the eleventh hour this Easter, it came to mind.  With the refrigerator hanging wide open and me staring at the vegetable bin for quite some time, it suddenly hit me.  Here is my seemingly bi-polar thought process:

“I’ll make that broccoli salad! Yeah…. OK!  It looks like I have some of the ingredients.  Not sure that I have enough to feed six people…Hmm.   OH!  I can use these radishes here and this cucumber and hey, I have celery…whoa…do I have a lot of celery.  I’m  soo not going to put the roasted Ramone noodles in it because that just sounds gross (visual image of people with grimaces sitting around the dining room table, staring blankly and chomping slowly on crunchy uncooked Ramone noodles like they are trying to figure out what it is and if it is supposed to sound like that while the lord has risen lyrics are sang gently on Pandora in the background), so (going to the pantry) here’s some sliced almonds and oh brother since Im in such a damn rush, the Top Ramone package…I better use the packet for the dressing.” 

Don’t judge me.  We’ve all been there.  And if you are short on your ingredients like I was, here is the new and improved Asian Broccoli Salad that I renamed Spring Broccoli Salad now tricking myself into making it more often because it isn’t the former!  Plus the apple, almonds, celery and radish make it crunchy and delicious.

dsc_0293.jpg

Spring Broccoli Salad

Ingredients

2 C. broccoli florets (cleaned, bite-sized and ready to go)

1 small english cucumber (peeled to be striped and cut into medium dice)

2 green onions (chopped)

5 or 6 radishes sliced thin, then halved

2 ribs of celery, cleaned, sliced lengthwise, then chopped on the bias into bite size pieces

1 small apple, cored, skin removed and diced into bite size pieces

1/2 C. roasted almonds

Ingredients for Dressing

3 T. rice wine vinegar

1 Top Ramone spice packet

2 T. mayonnaise

1 t black pepper

Directions

In a mixing bowl, add broccoli to almonds from the list above and mix well.

Special note:  To roast sliced almonds, place them in a skillet on medium heat and stir them around, flipping them occasionally until they are golden brown.  Quickly remove from heat and lay them on a paper towel to cool.  You will want to cool them before you add them to a cold salad and certainly before you add them to anything that has mayonnaise in it!

Prepare the dressing and pour over the top and gently mix in.  You can serve immediately, but it’s better sitting in the fridge for about 2 or 3 hours ahead of time.  You guests will be pleasantly surprised by your creation and pairing of some really awesome spring vegetables.

Here was the Easter Egg Hunt 2013 which was the first Easter ever that we could have an egg hunt outside.  It was a beautiful morning!

DSC_0275DSC_0279

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

