Potato Gnocchi

Potato Gnocchi
Potato Gnocchi

Potato Gnocchi

A little tiny light and fluffy pasta pillow.  Cover them with a pesto, marinara or brown butter sage sauce and you will be in heaven.  I have enormous passion for these little things.

The first time I tried them was at a local restaurant known for their fabulous Italian food.  There were so many good things on the menu.  The waitress came to the table and asked my companion and I for our orders.  Feeling gastronomically wild, I closed the menu and smiled at her and said, “You decide.  Surprise me.”  Everything at this restaurant is amazing so I knew I would be pleased with anything on the menu.  She brought me the gnocchi.  I loved it and now I crave it all the time.  The gnocchi was actually considered a “special” that night on the menu and I hope to God they don’t stop serving it because it ranks right up there with the top ten foods you love to eat.

I reviewed several recipes before making them myself.  I decided to combine a few and do a test run and I was pretty scared.  Not sure why though because they turned out great!  I froze them on prepared cookie sheets, then slid them into a freezer safe bag and now I can pull some out and whip up a batch on the fly.  Experiment with different types of gnocchi.  To change the flavor, try adding either squash puree, pesto, or tomato paste with Italian herbs prior to adding the flour and remaining ingredients, then proceed with preparing the gnocchi as instructed.

Ingredients

6 Russet baking potatoes

1 C. Bread Flour

2  eggs beaten

1 t. salt

1 t. nutmeg

Potato Gnocchi 2

Directions

Preheat your over to 425.  Poke your russets with a fork or a sharp knife and wrap in foil.  Place potatoes on a baking sheet and put them in the oven for about an hour.  To check for doneness, poke them again and if it goes through easily – they’re done!  Place them on the counter to cool enough to handle.  When they are cool, unwrap them, cut the potatoes in half and using a spoon, scrape them out into a bowl and discard the skins.  Add the flour, eggs, salt and nutmeg and mix slightly with a fork until blended.  Turn out onto a cool work surface and form into four balls of dough.  Roll the dough into inch thick ropes.  Using a sharp knife, cut them 3/4 in length.  If you want to be fancy, you can use the back of a fork to press on each one making a unique divot.

To cook your gnocchi, heat water to boiling.  Add a pinch of salt and put in the amount of gnocchi you want to make.  Boil until they rise to the surface.  Scoop out and serve with your favorite sauce.

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

