Egg & Pepper Sandwich

sbe-2017-eggpepp
Egg & Pepper Open Faced Sandwich
fsl
The girls…

Sunday morning.  What could be better?  I finally have time!  Time to make a real comfort breakfast, sip coffee and dream of Springtime.

I snuck out on this chilly morning to visit “The girls” and see how many eggs I could get.  My kids wanted me to make them French toast.  I had something else in mind for me.  There was left over sourdough loaf from dinner last night that I was thinking would be lovely this morning… all toasty with eggs on top.

There were seven eggs.  The big dark brown egg I recognized as being from Fuzzy Slippers.  She is the white chicken in the picture above.  Her name was given to her because she has feathers that grow down her legs and onto the top of her feet.  I wanted to name her “Chaps”.  I was overruled.  That happens when you have kids.  The other eggs were light brown, blue and green.  If you ever get the chance to have backyard or farm fresh eggs, then you know that they are out of this world.  They are well worth the $5 or so a dozen and if they eat like mine do, they are worth it.

This is a photo taken a week ago of their home, with their run, alongside my garden, in the orchard.  The girls are spoiled.  Spoiled rotten.  I can’t help it.

38309895-eaba-4b38-83e5-2a87800b4fcc

On this day, I did make French toast.  I also made this lovely breakfast sandwich just for me.  It’s quick and delicious and the bit of red pepper added just the right flavor.

Directions

2 eggs

1 slice of sourdough or other rustic bread

1 T of butter

Red pepper cut in 1/4 inch slices to form rings

Salt & Pepper

Parsley, chopped

Instructions  – Makes 2.

If you have left over rolls or bread from dinner or just using regular loaf bread, you can toast them in the toaster or oven.  I put butter on both sides of the bread and put it in the oven on broil, watching them until they were golden on top and then I flipped them and took them out when they were perfect.  Let me tell you a little something about “butter and broil”.  Watch it closely.  The notion that you are going to get something else done in the kitchen and come back to it rarely works out in your favor.  Just sayin’.

Turn the stove on medium and set up your non-stick griddle.  When its hot, place the slices  of red pepper on the griddle.  After 1 minute, gently crack one egg in the center of each of the pepper rings.   Let cook for about 2 1/2 minutes.  Using a spatula, flip the egg and pepper over quickly and cook on this side for about 3 more minutes.  Vary time depending on how you like your eggs.

Place the eggs on top of your toasty bread.  Sprinkle salt, pepper and parsley over the top.  Enjoy alongside your hot coffee goodness!  Happy Sunday.

Leave a comment